Kyneton Marist Brothers Old Boys Association Inc
2018 Annual Reunion
The 2018 Annual Meeting and Reunion will be held on Sunday 28January 2018
Details will be advised closer to the date but mark your diary now!
Deceased Old Boys
A comprehensive record of deceased Old Boys can be found at the Annual Reunion page by clicking on the Deceased Old Boys icon.
If you are aware of any additions or corrections please let us know.
The annual Requiem Mass for deceased Old Boys was held on Wednesday 8 February 2017 .
Bon Voyage Father Joe Ruys
Father Joe Ruys came to Kyneton in 2013 as a temporary Parish Priest but has stayed on long past the normal definition of temporary.
He soon adopted the Old Boys as confidants and for assistance and has been very supportive in all our activities. Although our school hymn “Faith of our Fathers” somewhat conflicted Father’s determination of the creed of the Catholic Church in the 21st century he did not rewrite history to please the politically correct. ….Perhaps just a little!
After the 10.30 am Mass on 24th September there will be a light refreshment session for parishioners to bid a very memorable priest fond farewells and a safe and comfortable resettling into his Columbian mission vocation in Chile.
Banjo Patterson’s poem advises of the formation of an institution called “The Geebung Polo Club” and contains a line “By the old Campaspe River where the breezes shake the grass”.
Banjo was probably referring to the Campaspe River in Queensland not the one that rises at Ashbourne near Kyneton in Victoria.
Whatever the truth may be there is an institution at Kyneton in Victoria which although not in Banjo’s poems is not dissimilar to the Geebung Polo Club.
There exists an arguably unique institution called the Kyneton Marist Brothers Old Boys Association Inc [MBOBA] which as the name infers is associated with the Kyneton Community.
The Marist Brothers taught at Kyneton from 1926 until 1967 , yet although the school has been closed longer that it was open, the alumni association is still as vibrant as it was when founded in 1947.
THE SCHOOL BADGE AND ALUMNI CREST
One of the early events was the designing of a badge to be part of the school uniform. The badge was designed by Brother Louis the first director in 1926 and was supplied by A H Wittenback of Richmond. The badge of very neat appearance contains the school colours. Cerise – typifies the Sacred Heart, Blue – the Blessed Virgin Mary, Gold – our sun drenched country, Australia with a golden heart.
The symbols are the Southern Cross – Australia’s emblem [using that as depicted on the Victorian state flag]. The lamp and open book of knowledge and the Marist monogram. Around them a laurel of victory and the motto Servabo Fidem [I will keep the faith.]
The Old Boys Association took the school badge and incorporated it into the Association shield by adding the wording that appears at the bottom
The school hymn Faith of our Fathers is detailed at Annual Reunion page